The Night Before

Leave it fate to always throw a curve ball my way: a cancelled flight and some travel readjustments.  But now I’m all squared away for tomorrow’s journey.  I haven’t packed yet, I usually pack the night before and set a time limit so I don’t wander off distracted or forget anything.  At least I’ve got a list for starters…and it includes as much USA gear I can possibly wear over a span of 10 days.  Not to mention, Old Glory is in there too, I’ll be carrying her with me to wave proudly.

This is not the first time I don the red, white and blue, nor do I intend for it to be anywhere near my last. My trip brings back memories of my 2010 experience with the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore.  We came home silver medalists, losing to Belgium in 4 tough sets.  Hopefully a gold is in store for me this trip, we’ll have to see how the training and competitions go, but regardless, it’s the experience, the thrill and rush of proudly representing the Red, White and Blue.

I’m so excited to represent my country at the Girl’s Junior National Championships in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  We’ll be competing against a group of USA Teams and potentially international groups as well.  More to come tomorrow as I make my way to Minnie!

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Night Before

  1. James Fuller says:

    Good Luck to you on your journey Katie! I want to share with you a quote by G. K. Chesterton that I adore and I believe may also be present I your heart. “The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.

    PS – Don’t forget your iPod charger.

    • Thank you! I definitely agree that we all have something to fight for, especially in the case of sports, athletes fight to win due to the pressure of losing to previous opponents. That’s half the battle, the fear of failure and losing.
      I definitely brought my chargers…blogging, online homework and FaceTime keep me busy!

Leave a comment